Interview with Me, Stephanie

I took most of the questions I ask the authors who I interview and decided to answer some of them so you can get a glimpse into me, Stephanie, the author of this blog. I hope you enjoy this peek.

*Who are some of your favorite authors and books? Did they influence or inspire your writing style and give you ideas?

I’m a book-worm, so I have several favorites, off-hand – Lynsay Sands, Anne Rice, Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Lisa Gardner, Charlaine Harris and Kerrelyn Sparks. I write what I enjoy which tends to be romance with a bit of suspense thrown in for good measure, I love twists and turns.

*This or That – Chocolate or Vanilla?? Coffee or Tea?? TV or Movies??

Chocolate. Tea – Southern Sweet Tea (cold) or Green White Tea fusion with honey (hot). Movies.

*When you sit down to write, are you at a computer or do you do it, the ‘old fashioned’ way with pen and paper? Do you prefer one way or another?

Ink pen (black, fine or extra fine point) and legal pads are my preferred way to write; I have a few stories that are started on my computer, but I prefer the organic nature of writing with a pen. I actually have my legal pad and pen next to me as I type this beckoning me to write.

*What do you do in your down time? Do you pick up something from your ‘to be read’ stack?

I very domestic, I enjoy cross stitch, baking, canning, helping my husband in the barn, write or recently spend time with my chickens. My TBR stack is thick; I’m working on it, slowly.

*If someone looked into your purse right now what would they find?

A wallet, keys, coupons, my organizer, a few cosmetics, pens, sticky note pad, training pants for my munchkin, lotion, hand sanitizer, notes about things I need to pick up, hair clips, earrings, nail file, tylenol & tums, my cell and a book (most recently was ‘The Heiress’ by Lynsay Sands); those are the usual suspects in my purse.

*What do you look for in a book when you sit down to read for fun?

Hot romance scenes, twists and turns, something I would want to share and keep around, I don’t get rid of many books after reading them, if I do, it’s because I didn’t really enjoy them.

*When you go to Starbucks or Jamba Juice, what do you order? Do they know you by name or drink?

Peppermint Hot Chocolate or Iced Black Tea Sweetened from Starbucks; Jamba Juice – Cold Buster with extra Vitamin C when it’s cold season.

*When you walk into a book store, where do you head first?

Discount books or new arrivals, then Mysteries and Romance, unless I’m with my kids, then it’s to the children’s or young adult sections.

*What is your favorite junk food vice?

I’m trying to be good right now, but it’s definitely soda – Dr. Pepper with Cherries.

*Is their any movie you have seen that was based on a novel, which you think lived up to the novel?? What made it live up to the novel?

“Memoirs of a Geisha” lived up to what I expected as far as the colours and visuals, “Gone With the Wind” was great as well, it made a long long novel a pleasure to watch.

*Did you have any teacher(s) in high school or college that encouraged you to write? Did you take their advice?

My High School Creative Composition teacher encouraged me to write, a lot. Even if I didn’t have an idea, she would bring me a dictionary or another book, tell me to ‘open it up at random’ and ‘close your eyes and point’; the word or the paragraph I pointed to was my ‘inspiration’, it’s amazing how it helped. The following year I was her aid and she gave me magnetic poetry for Christmas, I still have that set, it was to encourage me to write again. I’ll have to dedicate a book to her one day. 🙂

*What type of ice cream could I find you eating on a hot summer day?

Chocolate Malted Crunch… it’s my weakness.

*We all have our little ‘things’ when it comes to reading or writing; is their anything that bugs you when you read a novel?

Repetitive phrases and scenes; I’m not a great at spelling, but I make use of spell check and grammar check as much as I can. God bless the person who created spell & grammar check.

*Is their anything else you would like to share or say to those who will read this?

I hope you have enjoyed a little peek into me, the author of this blog; my biggest hope is that those who read my blog will enjoy it as much as I do. Please note, their will be times when I have a LOT of ARR (author requested reviews) up, it’s just what happens at times, I’m working on other reviews that are not of that nature, it just takes a bit of time.

Leave a Friendly Comment

