Author Interview ~ Jessica Scott

I was first introduced to Jessica Scott on goodreads.com ; I saw her give way for her first novel, “Because of You”, I was one of the winners of a signed copy; I received it on Valentine’s Day of this year and stared to read it immediately. Jessica was sweet enough to write a personal note inside. Her writing was so compelling and heart touching that I had to keep tissues with me when I read it, I think my husband got a bit jealous since I told people about Jessica’s book on V-Day almost as much as his present (a warm vest with his work’s logo on it). Jessica’s experience with being in the military give her novel an authentic quality that brings her readers into her world and shows a new side of our fighting men and women that others may not see or know about. “Because of You’ was the first novel I have read that was a ‘military’ novel for lack of a better term, I was plesantly surprised. Please enjoy my interview with Jessica and congratulations to her, her newest novel will be out in early October.

 

Please tell me about your current novel. What or who inspired you to write it?

 

My next book is UNTIL THERE WAS YOU (which comes out Oct 8) and it was inspired while I was in Basic Officer Basic Course and I had a couple of friends who were just at each other’s throats the whole time. They were the inspiration for Evan & Claire, two army captains who have to cross their ideas of what being an office means.

 

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What was the biggest complement? Did those change how or what you did in your next novel?

 

The toughest part of being an author is to keep going when there are so so many out there. I’d been writing for 5 years before I sold and we’re talking hundreds of nos. Keeping going is by far the toughest part of being an author.

 

The best compliment was when a reader told me they could not stop thinking about my book days later. That was just the best.

 

This or That ? Chocolate or Vanilla?? Coffee or Tea?? TV or Movies??

 

Chocolate, Coffee, Movies.

 

When you sit down to write, are you at a computer or do you do it, the “old fashioned” way with pen and paper? Do you prefer one way or another?

 

I’m all automated! Computer, iPad. But then again, now that you’ve got me thinking about it, I do use pen and paper to brainstorm and take notes. I haven’t gotten away from that tactile need, I guess, after all.

 

What do you look for in a book when you sit down to read for fun?

 

Make me care. Make me not able to stop reading. If I can’t stop thinking about your character or the hook and I have to go back to finish. That’s what I want to read.

 

When you walk into a book store, where do you head first?

 

The coffee shop, followed by the romance section. I love seeing my friends? books in the wild!

 

Did you get to quit your “day job” and become an author, or do you have a “day job” and writing is something you do for fun?

 

I’m not quitting my day job any time soon. I love being a soldier and I plan on doing it as long as the army will let me or as long as it stays fun.

 

What has been the strangest thing a reader has asked you?

 

I have the best readers. Honestly, no one has asked me anything bizarre!

 

What is your favorite junk food vice?

Ice cream. Maybe Godiva Chocolates.

 

If we snuck a peek in your purse right now, what would we find?

 

10-15 lip glosses, 15-20 pens, old receipts not organized, a check book that may or may not have checks in it. And cracker crumbs from my lovely children.

 

We all have our little “things” when it comes to reading or writing; is their anything that bugs you when you read a novel?

 

I‘ll let one eye rolling moment pass. More than one and I’m probably going to stop reading.

 

In 4 words, describe yourself.

 

Energetic, obsessive, distractible, impatient.

 

Is there anything else you would like to share or say to those who will read this?

I’m fortunate to have the best job in the world: two jobs I’m truly passionate about. I love being a soldier and I love writing about soldiers.

Leave a Friendly Comment

