Author Interview ~ Judith Leger

Today I get the pleasure of introducing everyone to a delightful author, Judith Leger. Judith let me take a peek into her not only as an author, but as a person, our interview is lighthearted and it introduced me to an author I will be keeping my eyes on for some time and one whom I hope to get to know better. Her response to ‘This or That” regarding ‘chocolate or vanilla’ is sure to have my female readers nodding their heads, lol. Also, Judith is going to choose from those who comment on our interview today to receive a copy of her novel!!! Good luck.

 

Please tell me about your current novel. What or who inspired you to write it?

 

Oh, I like this question.  My inspiration for Enchanted was the group, Creed.  I would listen to their music on the way back and forth to work. Images appeared during this time of a story with elves and magic.  Thus, Enchanted was born.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors and books? Did they influence or inspire your writing style and give you ideas?

 

My favorite of all authors is Mary Balogh.  I have been a fan of her works for years.  I even have many (almost all) of her short Signet regencies.  I also love Christine Feehan. 

 

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What was the biggest compliment? Did those change how or what you did in your next novel?

 

LOL, not long ago, I asked someone to beta read one of my books.  She didn’t make it past page 18.  She then suggested that I attend some writing work shops at some conferences to learn how to write.  I’m looking at those comments, thinking what?  Not sure how I should have thought about those comments because I take pride in producing a well written book.  I’ve been writing for many years and have been published many times.  The best compliment I received were from reviewers about how they thought my works showed such brilliance in the storytelling.  These keep me going.  I want to become better and better as an author.  I love writing and will continued to do so for many years to come.

 

This or That – Chocolate or Vanilla?? Coffee or Tea?? TV or Movies??

 

Chocolate – can it be smeared all over a sexy guy?

Definitely coffee.  I have to have my caffeine I.V. every day.

Movies – Fantasy, anime, and/or romance.  Love movies.

 

When you sit down to write, are you at a computer or do you do it, the ‘old fashioned’ way with pen and paper? Do you prefer one way or another?

 

I normally sit at the computer but if I have trouble moving forward in a story, I step away from the computer and sit outside with pen and tablet.  Changing the venue of where I work usually helps release the muse.

 

What do you do in your down time? Do you pick up something from your ‘to be read’ stack?

 

I read but I also watch Anime.  My three sons (snort, sounds familiar doesn’t it?) turned me on to Anime years ago with Dragonball Z.  Fell in love with it.  I buy Anime box sets of the shows I love to watch.  Right now I’m watching Naruto Shippuden. 

 

If your protagonist was a real person, what would they think about you? Would they want to hang out with you?

 

And why wouldn’t they?  LOL  Seriously?  Probably not.  I’m more of a stay-at-home nerd than jet setter.

 

When you walk into a book store, where do you head first?

 

To the Romance section!  It’s my favorite spot in the entire store!

 

Did you get to quit your ‘day job’ and become an author, or do you have a ‘day job’ and writing is something you do for fun?

 

LOL!  I wish I could quit my EDJ to write all day but nope, not going to happen unless I hit the bestseller list and even then, I’d probably stay working.  I have been writing for about 11 years now.  Over the years, I’ve made a schedule to follow everyday.  If I’m in the middle of a WIP, I wake up earlier to write before getting ready for work. After work, I have things (pickup in the house, cooking, washing clothes, etc.) to do before I allow myself to sit down to write.  This way, I have nothing hanging over my head while I’m writing.  I also Love my day job.  I work at a local university so I’m around young people everyday.  It’s refreshing.

 

What is your favorite junk food vice?

 

A hot fudge sundae.  Crazy about them.

 

Is their any movie you have seen that was based on a novel, which you think lived up to the novel?? What made it live up to the novel?

 

I’d say the Harry Potter movies.  I have all of them along with the books. They kept them pretty much the same as the books.

 

What type of ice cream could I find you eating on a hot summer day?

 

Pralines and Creams.  Yum!

 

If we snuck a peek in your purse right now, what would we find?

 

Everything but the kitchen sink.  I definitely keep my Kindle in my purse.

 

This or That – Christmas or Your Birthday?? Chocolate or Flowers?? Cell Phone or No Phone?? Quality or Quantity??

 

Christmas

Flowers (love flowers)

No phone (I’m on the phone almost all day so I much prefer no phone)

Quality anytime.  I like good work!

 

In 4 words, describe yourself.

 

Unique, quirky, sassy, happy

 

Is there anything else you would like to share or say to those who will read this?

 

My new release, Enchanted, is available from Lyrical Press.  It’s filled with magic so if you love romance swirling with magic, be sure and grad a copy!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judith Leger
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:10:06

    Hi Stephanie! Thanks for having me today.

    Reply

  2. Mae Clair
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 18:02:00

    What a fun interview, ladies. Entertaining and informative. Congrats on the release, Judith, from another Lyrical author. I think Enchanted sounds like a divine read!

    Reply

  3. C. Lee McKenzie
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 18:14:00

    Sounds like we share some of the same strategies, especially the stepping away from the computer and going somewhere to think with a pad and pencil. That does change up the brain a bit. As to the chocolate. I’m thinking about my choice of sexy guys!

    Reply

  4. Judith Leger
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 18:27:59

    LOL! Thanks C. Lee! Yes indeed!

    Hi Mae! Thanks for stopping by.

    Hugs

    Reply

  5. S.D. Grady
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 18:49:47

    Hi Judith! Congrats on the release. (((hugs)))

    Reply

  6. Judith Leger
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 19:06:13

    Thanks, S.D.! Appreciate it! Hugs honey!

    Reply

  7. Ellie Heller
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 21:20:41

    Another Balough fan! Yay. Congrats on the release, fingers crossed you do make it to the best sellers lists!! (I know if not this one, the next!, you’ll be there)

    Reply

  8. Cornelle
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 23:18:34

    Whoa, Ms. Leger has done it once again! I’m a fan for life Ms. Judy. Great interview as well. I think I’ll look up the interviewer as well while I’m here.

    Reply

  9. Jerri Drennen
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 01:45:23

    Great inteview, Judy. You and I have been writing almost as long as each other.

    Reply

  10. Judith Leger
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 05:16:58

    Hey Ellie!! Thanks for stopping by, baby!!

    Awww, Cornelle, thank you so much!! Go for it love.

    Hi Jerri! Thank you so much for stopping by. Yep, we’ve been at this a long time.

    Reply

  11. Amber Green
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 05:31:41

    Love Balogh. Love chocolate and hot fudge sundaes. Love coffee and sexy guys–and sexy guys bearing coffee. Could probably get addicted to anime if I let myself watch it. Hmm.

    Reply

  12. Judith Leger
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:20:21

    LOL! It’s awesome, Amber. You really should try it. Anime, baby…still the guys sound great too!

    Reply

  13. Ren Thompson
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 17:29:30

    Pralines and Cream! Love the interview 🙂

    Reply

  14. Judith Leger
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 20:00:27

    Thanks Ren!!

    Reply

Leave a Friendly Comment

