Book Review ~ “One Grave at a Time” by Jeaniene Frost

Title ~ One Grave at a Time

Author ~ Jeaniene Frost

Series~ Night Huntress

Book # ~6

Format ~Paperback

Rating ~4 Stars

 

Short Recap ~ How do you send a killer to the grave when he’s already dead?

Having narrowly averted an (under)World War, Cat Crawfield wants nothing more than a little downtime with her vampire husband, Bones. Unfortunately, her gift from New Orleans’s voodoo queen just keeps on giving–leading to a personal favor that sends them into battle once again, this time against a villainous spirit.

Centuries ago, Heinrich Kramer was a witch hunter. Now, every All Hallows Eve, he takes physical form to torture innocent women before burning them alive. This year, however, a determined Cat and Bones must risk all to send him back to the other side of eternity–forever. But one wrong step and they’ll be digging their own graves.

(recap courtesy of goodreads.com )

 

 

 

I thought this was going to be a romance novel, it turned out to be a paranormal thriller with a romantic undertone, I was surprised, I thought I was getting a romantic thriller, yet, I was pleasantly surprised. There is an element of romance between Cat & Bones, it’s a delicate thread, one that I can understand, things get ‘in the way’ and romance takes a backseat at times, ok, having a 3yr old, 12 yr old, work & an acre, is not like having a poltergeist who is determined to be as much as pain in the butt as humanly possible. Ok, my 3yr old has been known to tare the house up when he doesn’t get his way, much like Kramer in this novel. [Now that I think about it, I think my mini-munchkin could give Kramer a few pointers, lol ]

 

When studying about the witch burnings in the early days of the United States and in Europe, I remember thinking how horrible it must have been for those wrongly and misunderstood unfortunates who were tortured and burned if not worse; this novel does not go into the details that I remember when I was in school, yet, Kramer is exactly what I would think an Inquisitor would have been like during those days. Jeaniene’s characters jumped off the pages and a few times; her description of the Inquisitor and his intended victims was heartbreaking.

 

Twists and turns keep you on your toes; when I thought I had things figured out, I was pleasantly surprised to be proven wrong.

 

After reading this novel, I am going to be looking for the others in this series and in the others as well; I am a convert that’s for sure.

Leave a Friendly Comment

