Author Interview ~ Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sometimes I get surprised by how much technology plays in connecting us with people we would not normally come into contact with, today’s author interview shows just how much technology plays a part of connecting us. Linda Hays-Gibbs tweeted to me a short time ago, I don’t check twitter very often, so getting an alert that I was mentioned got me to check, and I was surprised to see that Linda had. Doing a bit of research on Linda was all it took for me to add her on Twitter and on goodreads and want to do an interview with her. Linda is not like anyone else I have interviewed, she is candid in her answers, you can also see her passion and the way she describes herself in ‘4 words’ gave me a LOT of insight. Please enjoy today’s author interview.

 

Linda will be giving away a copy of her newest novel “My Angel, My Light as Darkness Falls” to one lucky commenter.

 

 

Please tell me about your current novel. 

 

“Angel in My Heart, Devil in My Soul “is coming out the first of November, 2012

 

What or who inspired you to write it?

 

My Daughter, Beatrice and granddaughter Sailey helped me to come up with the scenario. It was bandied about the living room.  They love to give me hints or make comments about my novels. We decided it would be great fun to conflict a hardened killer with a beauty he couldn’t kill. Making the killer a half-demon assassin of the Devil and she a half Angel only added spice to the attraction.  Then I have it set in Regency England to add more spice.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors and books? Did they influence or inspire your writing style and give you ideas?

 

 I love Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice”, Johanna Lindsey’s “Tender Rebel”, Barbara Metzger’s “The Primrose Path”, Terri Bruce’s” ‘Hereafter, Dina Rae’s “Halo of the Damned”, They gave me form, romance, humor, paranormal and horror aspects.  I hear them all in my head when I’m typing.

 

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What was the biggest compliment? Did those change how or what you did in your next novel?

 

When someone tells you that they just don’t like your writing, it hurts and you don’t know how to fix what was wrong. I want particulars. Tell me what I did wrong.  I want to be a better writer.  I appreciate constructive criticism.   When someone tells you that they were transported and enjoyed your writing, you feel transported too.

 

This or That – Chocolate or Vanilla?? Coffee or Tea?? TV or Movies??

 

I take dark chocolate, coffee with real cream and Movies over TV.

 

When you sit down to write, are you at a computer or do you do it, the ‘old fashioned’ way with pen and paper? Do you prefer one way or another?

 

I put my computer on the coffee table, have a cup and think about being my character. Sometimes I have an idea in the middle of the night and I jot it down in my notebook or on my iPhone until I can get to my computer and put it into my book. I used to only write on paper, that helped me when I typed it because I did my rewrites as I typed.

 

What do you do in your down time? Do you pick up something from your ‘to be read’ stack?

I do but lately I have read all of them so I am looking for new books to read.  I have to read something all the time.  I know the TV is there but I am reading with it on.  I can’t get the stories I love on the TV or at the movies. They are not producing my kind of shows.  I love Regency Romances and the Paranormal.  It is just reality garbage and parastupid.

 

If your protagonist was a real person, what would they think about you? Would they want to hang out with you?

 

No, I don’t think they would like me.  I am a dreamer and I make all my people real.  They are people that are filled with action not dreamers.  They are doers with a course of action and a love to find.

 

What do you look for in a book when you sit down to read for fun?

 

I want romance, action, a little humor and a lot of twists and turns.

 

 When you go to Starbucks or Jamba Juice, what do you order? Do they know you by name or drink?

Double Latté or Mocha, no they don’t know me.

 

What has been your favorite part of being an author? What has been your least favorite?

 

My favorite part of being an author is all the great artist I have met.  They are so nice.  I love getting to chat with my best author.  It thrills me to be in contact with these people. My least favorite part is promotion because it is hard work. I want to write another book instead of promoting but if I don’t promote I don’t get to write the next book.  It is hard but worth it.

 

When you walk into a book store, where do you head first?

 

I go straight to fiction.  I have a degree in Anthropology and I love History but I want to get lost in Romance and fantasy. I want escape not reality.

 

Did you get to quit your ‘day job’ and become an author, or do you have a ‘day job’ and writing is something you do for fun?

 

I am retired. I wanted to write before now but my life was too busy.  Now I get to do what I love. Do you enjoy writing? Yes, why would I write if I didn’t love it?

 

What is your favorite junk food vice?

 

Popcorn and fudge but I had to give up the fudge.

 

Is their any movie you have seen that was based on a novel, which you think lived up to the novel?? What made it live up to the novel?

 

”Gone with the Wind” I think it was the best novel and the best movie of all time.

 

If you could step into the shoes of your protagonist for one day, would you? What would you like to experience or see during that day?

 

I would like to meet one of my men for an hour or two, or three.

 

Did you have any teacher(s) in high school or college that encouraged you to write? Did you take their advice?

 

In high school my Latin professor said my translations were all fiction and I should take up writing fantasy.  My Anthropology Professor said that I would not stick to the reality of the matter and wanted to follow unproven science.  I always made up stories since I was a little girl but had no outlet until now.

 

What type of ice cream could I find you eating on a hot summer day?

 

Rocky Road or fudge ripple with hot fudge syrup and pecans on top with maybe a cherry or two.

 

If we snuck a peek in your purse right now, what would we find?

 

Watermelon jelly beans, and juicy fruit chewing gum, coupons, my tribal card, credit cards, my nook, and a change purse.

 

We all have our little ‘things’ when it comes to reading or writing; is their anything that bugs you when you read a novel?

 

I want a story, not just sex.  Sometimes I think no one wants to read a real Romantic story any more.

 

Who was your first novel dedicated to? Was there a particular reason for that person?

 

My first book was poetry and I dedicated it to my granddaughter Sailey.  Its title was “Sailing in My Sunshine.”  It was all about thanking God and my grandkids for my life.  My next book was to my children. It was about the turbulent sixties and a romance born in such a tragic time.

 

This or That – Christmas or Your Birthday?? Chocolate or Flowers?? Cell Phone or No Phone?? Quality or Quantity??

 

Christmas because I love seeing children happy. Chocolate because it is the nectar of the Gods.  Cell phones because you can run your world from a little plastic device.  Quality because I want that in my life.

 

What do your friends and family think of your writing? Have they been supportive?

 

Yes, my family are supportive but they leave me alone when I am doing rewrites.  I tear out my hair and howl and groan a lot.

 

In 4 words, describe yourself.

 

Christian, loving, stubborn, generous

 

Is there anything else you would like to share or say to those who will read this?

 

Don’t let this world get you down.  Remember God’s love and honor His word and you will have peace and love. Those are the most important things to have in this life.

One of my great reviews for, “My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls, which is for sale at:

http://www.ck2skwipsandkritiques.com/category/genre/paranormalromance/paranormal-ghost/

It is out now and getting great reviews.  Thank you for this opportunity and for having me for this interview.  My new book, “Angel in My Heart, Devil in My Soul” will launch Nov. 1st. The last in this series will be about the male angel called “Morovani.”

www.lindahaysgibbs.blogspot.com

www.lindahaysgibbs.pbworks.com

www.facebook.com/rosedru

www.twitter.com/rosedru63

 

http://eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615726028

http://rebeccaminto.blogspot.com/2012/03/my-angel-my-light-as-darkness-falls.html

https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/author-interview-no-394-with-multi-genre-writer-linda-hays-gibbs/

http://fullmoonbites.blogspot.com/2012/07/author-of-week-linda-hays-gibbs.html?zx=237f9f7579ca3067&m=1

 

http://www.goodreads.com/mobile/review/show/296000002

RoseDru@aol.com

I have five books published:  Sailing in My Sunshine, He Would Make Her Pay, Escape into Magic, My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls, and soon to be out Angel in My Heart, Devil in My Soul.

My next book is called, “The Crazies” and I am writing it as we speak.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mark Juppe
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 17:14:11

    Great Interview Linda! Books Sound GREAT! I’ll put it on the list for my wife.
    Thanks For the Invite!
    Warmest Regards,
    Mark Juppe

    Reply

  2. Cynthia Tussey Harris
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 16:38:56

    Thanks for the interview. Got your book on my to read list.

    Reply

Leave a Friendly Comment

