Author Interview ~ Pam Funke

I met today’s author when I was asking for people to do my holiday questionnaire. Pam Funke, has been a delight to get to know over the past few weeks and has put up with me being sick and finally getting this interview up, I am excited share with everyone the wonderful woman I’ve met. Please make sure you take a look at Pam’s holiday answers on Dec 26th.

Please tell me about your novel. Who or what was your inspiration behind it?

Well without giving away any spoilers, Operation Dark Angel is a fast-paced end-times thriller based on the Biblical book of Revelation. Operation Dark Angel is a military operation orchestrated by General Alexander Ludlow to bring peace to an out of control, chaotic world. At least that is what he was told by the voice. He later begins to suspect otherwise. During this time the anti-christ is born and quickly rises to power. The world is spiraling out of control due to wars and rumors of wars; the world is even on the brink of what could potentially become World War III. The people of the whole entire world are looking towards one man to save them for they feel completely helpless to stop or do anything about what’.

My inspiration behind it was The Left Behind Series by Jerry Jenkins and Tim LaHaye. While I enjoyed reading their series very much, I don’t believe that they realized that many non-Christians would be reading the series and enjoying it as well. So I decided to write a series that is just as exciting as theirs but I also include Biblical scripture to back up what I have to say so that my readers can check it out for themselves if they so choose.

What are some of your favorite genres to read and to write?

My favorite genres to read are Christian Fiction, Mystery, Thriller and Young Adult. My favorite genres to write are Christian Fiction, Christian Thriller and Christian Young Adult.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What was the biggest compliment? Did those change how or what you did in your next novel?

My biggest compliment has been how much readers have enjoyed reading my book and are looking forward towards the next novel. My toughest criticism has been from a non-believer in God attacking my book solely because they felt that my book would be more plausible if I left God out of it. I knew when I wrote the book that there would be some who felt this way but I am not allowing that to discourage me or stop me from writing more.

This or That – Chocolate or Vanilla?? Coffee or Tea?? TV or Movies??

Chocolate most definitely. Tea to relax. A good movie.

When you sit down to write, are you at a computer or do you do it, the ‘old fashioned’ way with pen and paper? Do you prefer one way or another?

When I sit down to write I am usually at my computer although I do also do some of my writing the old fashioned way as well. Mostly I prefer to write at the computer, but I don’t always have my laptop with me when a thought inspires me.

What do you do in your down time? Do you pick up something from your ‘to be read’ stack?

In my down time, I enjoy reading, painting, cooking, jewelry making, drawing, photography and scrapbooking. Actually I enjoy doing anything creative. I do pick up books from my huge to be read stack of books.

Thinking back to when you first started writing, have you noticed any big changes to your writing style or how you write compared from then to now?

As I first started writing as a young child I have definitely noticed some big changes to my writing style compared to now, not to mention that I actually finish the book now. (LOL)

What do you look for in a book when you sit down to read for fun?

The book must be something interesting to me and must capture my attention. I like to read various types of books, although my favorite authors are James Patterson, Mary Higgins Clark, Michael Connelly, Joel C Rosenberg, Tim LaHaye, Jerry Jenkins and David Baldacci.

When you go to Starbucks or Jamba Juice, what do you order? Do they know you by name or drink?

Actually we don’t have a Jamba Juice here and I’m not a big fan of coffee so I don’t go to Starbucks either.

What has been your favorite part of being an author? What has been your least favorite?

My favorite part are the book signings and talking with my fans. I enjoy listening to what they (the reader) has to say about my books. My least favorite part is the waiting; that period in time between submitting the final copy to the publisher and receiving the first copy and seeing it available for sale.

When you walk into a book store, where do you head first? Do you go to bookstores or have you gone viral for your reading pleasure?

The first place that I go when I enter a book store is to the Christian Fiction section.

Did you get to quit your ‘day job’ and become an author, or do you have a ‘day job’ and writing is something you do for fun?

For now, I have not quit my day job to become an author but perhaps one day God will allow me to be able to do so.

What is your favorite junk food vice?

My favorite junk food vice is chocolate, especially those white chocolate truffles by Lindt.

If you could step into the shoes of your protagonist for one day, would you? What would you like to experience or see during that day?

Would I like to step into the shoes of General Alexander Ludlow for a day, I’m not exactly sure. Why? Well for one, it is hard enough to be a leader of a large organization not to mention the General of a military post. But to also be in charge of a secret military operation that’s bent of improving the world’s current state only to start suspecting that what you are doing is completely wrong morally. I’m not so sure that I would want that position. But if I were to take the place of General Ludlow things may turn out completely different from the part that he plays in my story as many of the things that he does I could not do as it is not in my nature to do so.

Did you have any teacher(s) in high school or college that encouraged you to write? Did you take their advice?

In college I had a professor that enjoyed reading my English research papers and thought that I should write novels. At this time, I was still writing but more for my own enjoyment and had not even considered having anything published for others enjoyment. I guess that he partially influenced me in completing and submitting my manuscript last November.

What type of cool/cold weather treat could we find your indulging in on a typical day or weekend?

My cool weather treat that I like to indulge is a good cup of hot chocolate with whipped cream or an eggnog shake from McDonalds.

We all have our little ‘things’ when it comes to reading or writing; is their anything that bugs you when you read a novel? My pet peeve when it comes to reading is grammar and spelling. It really irritates me to read something that is full of grammatical and spelling errors. I also tend to be turned off from books that are full of foul language as well.

What do you listen to when you write?? Do you need quiet or do you find inspiration in music??

I like to listen to gospel music when I write although sometimes I like to listen to the soundtrack from Somewhere in Time; it just depends on my mood.

On a typical Friday evening, what can we find you doing? Who are you with?

On a typical Friday evening you can find me working on my next book. Although sometimes you will find me watching a good movie with my children.

What genre(s) are you looking forward to most exploring during your writing career??

Exploring Christian Fiction.

Who was your current novel dedicated too?? Any particular reason?

My current novel was dedicated to family members who have passed on from this world. I did it as a reminder of what they meant to me.

What are you currently reading??

Golden Chariot by Kris Karlsen

What 4 words would you use to describe yourself?

Honest, caring, loving and creative.

Is their anything else you would like to share or say to those who will read this?

I would like to say that I believe that everyone should follow their dreams. You never know what you can achieve if you never try. To my fellow authors and future authors, don’t get discouraged. No matter how many rejection letters you receive keep right on writing and submitting your manuscript because one day you will receive an acceptance letter. When you are writing write for your enjoyment and pick subjects that are interesting to you because it’s so much easier to write a book that you enjoy. It also makes it so much more believable to the reader. I welcome readers to email me (TheFourHorsemenSeries@hotmail.com) with any questions they have or comments that they have about my series or future books. They are also welcome to join me on my blogs as well. I write inspirational articles and post them here: http://thefourhorsemenseries.blogspot.com/ I also believe in supporting my fellow authors as well and have dedicated my other blog to author interviews, book reviews and spotlights here: http://4horsemenseriesbr.blogspot.com/ Thanks so much for having me, have a wonderful and blessed day.

Leave a Friendly Comment

