Book Review ~ “Dead Ever After” by Charlaine Harris

{{cover coming soon – won’t load}}

Title ~ “Dead Ever After”

Author ~ Charlaine Harris

Series~ Sookie Stackhouse

Book # ~13 (Final in Series)

Format ~Hardcover

Rating ~2 1/2 Stars

 

Short Recap ~ There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough… (recap courtesy of goodreads.com)

First off, let me say I LOATHE giving bad reviews, and 2 ½ stars was being kind in my mind. I prefer to give 4 and 5 stars and tell you to rush out and read a novel or at least put it on your TBR list and try to get to it soon, in this case, take your time and wait; borrow a copy (don’t put the money out for it if you don’t have too).

 

This was the last novel in the Sookie Stackhouse series, so I knew it was winding down; the last few books have given that sorta vibe and indicated a few things, yet, I felt like I was let down by ‘Dead Ever After’. I really, truly did want to love this novel and find ‘closure’ as much as possible with it, yet, it felt like there was something missing.

 

You won’t find any spoilers in this review as much as I am tempted; I want to let each reader have their own experience. Normally, I don’t read or skim other book reviews before I read a book, in this case, I did, about 2 dozen of them actually, and I was mostly 1 star and 2 star reviews; those friend friends and from others who like me, have followed the series from the beginning and who wanted the series to end on a high note.

 

Throughout the series, you have seen Sookie grow; from a telepath who had trouble controlling what she ‘heard’ and from having no experience in the ‘love’ department to a woman on her own who knows her self worth and with more experience and confidence. The man she ends up with, I did see coming, like I said, and this book is almost a copout as you saw a lot of what happens coming.

 

The disjoined chapters, made me feel like Ms Harris had several post it notes on her computer and she decided to get in as many as she could and put this one here and that one there. Some of the sections within the chapters were disconcerting and I had to reread them in order to understand them.

 

A few things are wrapped up and a few characters get their ‘happily ever after’ as much as they can, so that’s a plus. Returning characters from past novels make guest appearances, and help to wind the series down.

 

Things in Louisiana will definitely never be the same.

Leave a Friendly Comment

