Author Interview ~ Amy Bol

When it comes to author interview questions, I think I offer a great mix of questions, well, today’s Author Interview is with Amy Bol, and she agrees, lol. She said, and I quote, “BEST INTERVIEW QUESTIONS EVER!” I will take that as a compliment. Amy’s rep, Michelle, was nice enough to pass on my info to Amy (where Michelle and I connected, I cannot remember), so we can blame or thank Michelle for today’s interview (if you enjoy it, ‘thanks Michelle’, if you don’t, well, it’s all Michelle’s fault.. 😉 ) . It turns out Amy and I are a lot alike, I will let YOU figure out how. Please pull up a chair or get comfy because today’s Author Interview will leave you smiling and laughing, as it did me.

ps~ Amy has offered me a chance to read her yummy novels in exchange for reviews, hmmmm I will be taking her up on that, once I get a bit more caught up this month. but stay tuned for those!!!

–Personal Note… I think I might win the prize for weirdest questions asked to an author, I’m just sayin.. —

 

Please tell me about your current novel.

Draw of the Bane is the first book in The Blueblood Legacies series which centers on the great wolf dens of Eastern Europe. It’s an adult, paranormal romance with some fun twists and the right amount of naughty. The first book takes place in America, with the main character, Mila, getting ready to take a stand against those who have been pursuing her. Enter Landon, who shares a common enemy with her and turns her plans, and her heart, upside down. I can’t wait to finish the sequel. There are some fun characters I get to introduce! What or who inspired you to write it? My Aunt pushed me. She read an earlier version of the book and every time I saw her asked me what I planned on doing with it!

Who are some of your favorite authors and books? Did they influence or inspire your writing style and give you ideas?

I love Anne Rice, but I also spent an entire summer reading nothing but Barbara Cartland. I loved Cartland’s stories, still do, but she always seemed to stop right before the action. I didn’t. LOL

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author?

I just started publishing, so it hasn’t happened yet. I’m trying to prepare myself for it. People have different tastes, and you’re not going to please everyone. I’ve read how mean some people can be when giving reviews. It scares the crap out of me! I think that constructive criticism is welcome, but you don’t have to be mean about it. People sometimes forget that it’s very personal, writing. Authors take comments to heart.

What was the biggest compliment?

My friend told me she had trouble reading my first book because she felt like she was eavesdropping into a private and painful part of my life. It made my day!

Did those change how or what you did in your next novel?

It makes me strive to create that same emotional involvement in my fiction as people felt in my non-fiction.

This or That – paperback or iBook?? I love to hold a good paperback, but a kindle can hold tons of them! Smoothies or Milkshakes?? Milkshakes, without question! Chocolates or Jewelry?? I SHOULD say jewelry. But, let’s be real, chocolate!

When you sit down to write, are you at a computer or do you do it, the ‘old fashioned’ way with pen and paper? Do you prefer one way or another?

Computer: easier to erase and type over. Which, I do a lot!

What do you do in your down time?

That’s private, and a highly inappropriate question. JK! We have an old pontoon boat with a slide on it. We love taking it out on the water! Do you pick up something from your ‘to be read’ stack? On occasion, but I have to make sure I have a solid block of time. If a book draws me in, you won’t see me until it’s done. Not kidding, whenever a new Harry Potter came out, I would walk around the house reading it. Yes, I brought it into the bathroom with me while I did my business. Don’t judge.

If your protagonist was a real person, what would they think about you?

She would hate me. I’m interested in her man.

Would they want to hang out with you?

I would hope that Landon would, but I’d be scared of Mila.

What do you look for in a book when you sit down to read for fun?

Characters with charm: likeable but imperfect, a fun plot line, some unexpected twists and a lot of romance.

When you go to Starbucks or Jamba Juice, what do you order?

Peppermint Mocha, hot or cold depends on day, and biggest they have.

Do they know you by name or drink?

I spread my Starbucks love around; I’m not a regular at any particular store.

What has been your favorite part of being an author?

The responses from people who have enjoyed my words, It’s ADDICTING! What has been your least favorite? Formatting! Not fun!

When you walk into a book store, where do you head first?

To get coffee, then I get lost, people. I get lost!

Did you get to quit your ‘day job’ and become an author, or do you have a ‘day job’ and writing is something you do for fun?

I stay home with my girls. Writing keeps me sane.

What has been the strangest thing a reader has asked you?

I can’t think of a “strange” question. Sounds like a challenge! If anybody reading this can think of a “strange” question, post it on my facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/amybolwrites with the caption “Strange Question Challenge.” I promise to answer it!

What is your favorite junk food vice?

CHOCOLATE, come on, I passed on jewelry!

Is their any movie you have seen that was based on a novel, which you think lived up to the novel?? What made it live up to the novel?

I love a movie that follows the novel, but I have yet to see one that lives up to it. I like the worlds I create in my own head while I read.

If you could step into the shoes of your protagonist for one day, would you? What would you like to experience or see during that day?

YES!! I want to do what she can do! And who! LOL

Did you have any teacher(s) in high school or college that encouraged you to write? Did you take their advice?

In elementary school, I had a teacher who used to make me read my stories in front of the class. It made me want to keep coming up with new ideas.

What type of ice cream or gelato could I find you eating on a hot summer day?

A peanut butter sunday, extra peanut butter, with whip, no nuts, no cherry.

If we snuck a peek in your purse right now, what would we find?

A mess

We all have our little ‘things’ when it comes to reading or writing; is their anything that bugs you when you read a novel?

Plot twists that were too obvious.

Who was your first novel dedicated to? Was their a particular reason for that person?

My two girls. The book was about losing their dad to cancer. When they are older and eventually read it, I want them to remember how much he loved them and what a positive, funny guy he was.

This or That – Christmas or Your Birthday?? CHRISTMAS!!!!! Cell Phone or No Phone?? Cell phone, I would be lost without it. Quality or Quantity?? Quality, all day.

What do your friends and family think of your writing? Have they been supportive?

Yes, they have been very supportive. They think it’s fun.

In 4 words, describe yourself.

Oh, I couldn’t answer this one. I asked my fiancé and he said: “smart, sexy, sassy, and loud.” But, he’s been conditioned to give responses like that; I’m pretty sure he thinks it will earn him a back rub. But, it’s late and I’m going to bed when I finish these questions. Plus, he just called me “loud.”

Is their anything else you would like to share or say to those who will read this?

Thank You! I love hearing your comments! Thanks for taking the time to give my work a chance!

 

Leave a Friendly Comment

