Romance Author ~ Whitney K-E

If you could trade places with any of your leading ladies, who would it be and why??

Definitely my heroine, Kate Burrow. Whilst she’s been through a few rough patches, she gets all she wants and needs in the end in her handsome Irishman, Jack. Not to mention she lives my dream of running a horse stud and in beautiful Ireland no less!

In 5 words, please describe your ‘Romance Writing Style’.

Humorous, simple, evocative, lyrical and steamy. 🙂

Are any of your more ‘passionate’ scenes, based on any real life experiences?

Haha, unfortunately not hehe. Though I welcome an handsome Irishmen to kiss me senseless 😛

What is your ‘girl vice’? ie getting your hair done? Nails? Shopping? Gossiping? Chick flicks?

Jeez, I don’t know. I love indulging in a bubble bath and date with a book-boyfriend.

 Are any of your leading ladies, based on your you or any of the ladies in your life? If so, who?

Three of my heroines are based on myself, my twin sister and my best mate. Whilst Kate isn’t completely like me, we do have some common traits and thoughts. 🙂

When writing your more ‘adult’ scenes, do you picture what’s happening in your head, then write what you see? Of do you use another technique?

I definitely see it. And I write it so my readers can. Everything is set out and I’ve been told it shows.

 

Do your leading men come from any place in particular? Dreams? Movie stars? Your partner? Past partners?

Unfortunately, not. They are completely imaginary. But don’t worry ladies, I have been known to run into my imaginary charaters after I’ve created them. Here’s me hoping I run into one of my hunky Irishmen.

What is the first romance novel you ever read? How old were you?

I think… it might have been a Diana Palmer novel. Heart of the Dreaming. If it wasn’t, it was The Horse Whisperer. I would have been 13.

Do you write for a particular audience or for yourself and pray others like it as well?

To start, I write for myself and for my characters. When it comes to editing, I bring in my readers. Because I need fresh eyes to see what they will. 🙂

What was the LAST (most recent) romance novel you read? Did you enjoy it?

Kresley Cole’s, A Hunger like no Other. And I certainly did. 🙂 This would be the third time I’ve read it.

As a writer of romance, do you ever put yourself in your leading lady’s shoes and ‘walk’ around in them before you write?

Definitely. 🙂 In order to keep Kate in character I was constantly thinking about how she would see things, how she would react.

Would You Rather ~
Live 1 wk in your leading lady’s shoes
Or
The leading lady from another author? Who & Why?

Gosh, I really couldn’t choose. I’d love a week in many of the character’s I love shoes. But I’d have to say my own. Jack is a figurative of my imagination. And like I said, Kate is living one of my dreams.

Do you have any advice to give the leading lady of the novel you are currently working on or just finished?

Cara Barrow, don’t let the doubts in your head talk you out of pursuing something that is real. 🙂

How hard do you try to keep your ‘love’ scenes realistic and flow with the plot? Does it come easy for you?

I don’t plan my love scenes. My characters choose when they make love so I guess, yes, they come naturally.

In 5 years, where would you like to be in your career as a romance author? 10 years?

I hope to have my entire Irish series out, my book in Big W and the four other stories I can’t wait to write out there for my readers to enjoy!

 

If your sweetheart wanted to sweep you off your feet, what would they need to do??

Love me. And always make sure the coffee jar is full hehe.

In the spectrum of ‘Romance’, where would you place your most recent novel? Closer to the ‘Sweet’ side or ‘Naughty/Erotica’ side or somewhere in the middle??

I’m in the middle. Steamy, but sweet.

Do you ever daydream about people you see at the park? Airport? Train station? Mall? And build romance scenes around them while you daydream?

Daydreaming is what I do. Sometimes it gets me into trouble. Life and people present so many opportunities. So exciting to envision them all. 🙂

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 06:36:26

    What a great interview. I’m always surprised when I see what age people started reading romance. My favorite literary romance couple…I think it changes with every book I read.

    Reply

    • Whitney K-E
      Sep 14, 2013 @ 23:01:08

      It interests me too Pam. 🙂 Especially the ages of when people start writing novels. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Friendly Comment

