Romance Author ~ Nola Sarina

 

1. If you could trade places with any of your leading ladies, who would it be and why?? I would definitely trade places with Aria Hyacinthe, the lead female from my upcoming Crimson Romance title co-authored by Emily Faith WILD HYACINTHE. She gets Asher all to herself… and man, that guy is awesome in the sack.

2. In 5 words, please describe your ‘Romance Writing Style’. I love writing characters that have major flaws, and force them to reveal their innermost turmoil. I like alpha males and females who know how to make them show their passionate side.

3. Are any of your more ‘passionate’ scenes, based on any real life experiences? Um, yes. Yes they are lol. I’ve been called adventurous a time or two in life.

4. What is your ‘girl vice’? ie getting your hair done? Nails? Shopping? Gossiping? Chick flicks? I frequently dye my hair. Too frequently. When I was making my profile for Bitstrips on Facebook, I gave myself pink hair and a pirate hat because I just couldn’t decide which color to choose.

5. Are any of your leading ladies, based on your you or any of the ladies in your life? If so, who? I think each character highlights a part of myself in some way, but often it’s a part I kind of have to dig out. None of them embody an actual whole person in life. Desiree represents my strength. Three represents my ability to overcome the flaws I find within myself. Calli has an ability to love unconditionally that I aspire to show, too.

6. When writing your more ‘adult’ scenes, do you picture what’s happening in your head, then write what you see? Of do you use another technique? I write it as it comes to me, and then I take a little bit of time away from the scene and re-visit it to edit. Often I’ll plan how I want the characters oriented, and then allow their natural chemistry to guide the… um, details… of the scene.

7. This or That ~ Wine or Beer? Sex in the City or Caroline in the City? Perfume or Jewelry? Painted nails or Au Natural? Tall or Dark or Handsome? Wine, Sex, Jewelry, Painted, Tall Dark AND Handsome

8. Do your leading men come from any place in particular? Dreams? Movie stars? Your partner? Past partners? They start in my head, and take on qualities from all those sources as their story emerges in my mind.

9. What is the first romance novel you ever read? How old were you? Judith McNaught’s Perfect. I think I was thirteen.

10. Do you write for a particular audience or for yourself and pray others like it as well? I write the stories that leap into my head, and my job as an author is to try and translate that into something that others can absorb as realistically as life itself. I make certain changes to keep a story uncluttered – omitting plot elements, simplifying settings – or to keep characters distinct from each other, and that part is for the audience. But sometimes things can’t be altered no matter how badly an audience wants me to change it. The best example is the ending of GILDED DESTINY. Those characters told me their story start to finish, and though many readers objected to it, I couldn’t change the way everything collided in the end. It would have felt forced had I written it as readers told me (after it came out) they wanted to see it.
That said, as I headed into the writing of JADED TOUCH, I kept those comments in mind, because it’s important to me that readers don’t feel let down by the characters they grow to love. Readers are generous enough to let the characters into their hearts, and that’s a big investment I appreciate so much. 🙂

11. What was the LAST (most recent) romance novel you read? Did you enjoy it? I was fortunate enough to do a beta read of a romance by the awesome Rebecca Yarros, and it was so fantastic!

12. As a writer of romance, do you ever put yourself in your leading lady’s shoes and ‘walk’ around in them before you write? I always try to immerse myself in the leading lady’s situation. Visiting a similar setting to the one she’s about to face helps me get right into the moment and feel all the sensations involved.

13. Would You Rather ~
Live 1 wk in your leading lady’s shoes
Or
The leading lady from another author? Who & Why? This one is tricky. There are so many plots I’d love to jump into and follow along with the storyline. But since we’re talking romance, I’m just gonna say I’d LOVE a turn in the Red Room of Pain. 😉

14. Do you have any advice to give the leading lady of the novel you are currently working on or just finished? To Aria Hyacinthe of Wild Hyacinthe: please trust Asher. He has more wisdom than you know, even if sometimes he thinks with his dick.

15. How hard do you try to keep your ‘love’ scenes realistic and flow with the plot? Does it come easy for you? Love scenes MUST further the plot or alter the dynamic of a relationship/character perception in romance. If it doesn’t change something in the big picture, then it’s just an erotic scene and could be laced better into the plot. It does come easy to me, but that said, I love erotica, too, and hope to write some that doesn’t have all the sex structured into the plot.

16. in 5 years, where would you like to be in your career as a romance author? 10 years? I hope I’m still writing characters I cherish, and enhancing my day to day life with the magic of writing fiction. I hope, no matter how many people buy my books, that those who do love the characters as much as I do.

17. When it comes to mainstream Romance authors, who do you enjoy curling up with to read? I always bounce back to Judith McNaught, since she was my first introduction into reading romance.

18. If your sweetheart wanted to sweep you off your feet, what would they need to do?? Bring me sushi.

19. In the spectrum of ‘Romance’, where would you place your most recent novel? Closer to the ‘Sweet’ side or ‘Naughty/Erotica’ side or somewhere in the middle?? WILD HYACINTHE is a spicy romance. I find things kinda get hotter with each book I write, and I like it that way. 🙂

20. Do you ever daydream about people you see at the park? Airport? Train station? Mall? And build romance scenes around them while you daydream? Hehehehehe yes, totally. More likely I’ll meet someone in person and the way they talk will capture a perfect character, or the setting around us lends the right mood for romance. And then my imagination takes off and *POOF!!!* Romance scene.

21. This or That ~ Romantic Dinner at Home or Romantic Dinner Out? Roses or Lilies? Diamonds or Emeralds? Demure or Sex Kitten? Making love on a secluded Beach or Making love in a secluded cabin in the woods? Dinner out, Lilies, Emeralds, Sex Kitten, Making love in a secluded cabin in the woods. With wine. And restraints.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Friendly Comment

