Romance Author ~ Denise Flora

1] Question: If you could trade places with any of your leading ladies, who would it be and why??
Answer: part one: That would have to be , “Mckenna” the heroine in my first book. Part two: She is modeled after me in many ways to start with, beginning with her life in the future. Her business, her first husband, [very much like my own first husband, her childhood, and where she grew up. And then there is the dream of traveling back in time, to a place I have always dreamed of. And finding a man like ‘Colin’. A true highland warrior with a heart of gold.

2] Question: In five words, please describe your ‘Romance Writing Style’.
Answer: Telling a tale of love

3} Question: Are any of your more ‘passionate’ scenes, based on any real life experiences?
Answer: Of course. I think a writer has to feel what she or he writes about, and that includes experiencing it firsthand. So yes, I have lived every one of them!!

4] Question: What is your ‘girl vice’? Getting your hair done? Nails? Shopping? Gossiping? Chick Flicks?
Answer: My ‘girl vice’ is everything listed above except, gossiping. I own a Nail salon, and hear plenty of that every day. After awhile you want to turn it off.

5] Question: Are any of your leading ladies, based on you or any of the ladies in your life?
Answer: Yes. As in question one, ‘Mckenna” is based on my life somewhat, and other characters I have created are also based on people I have known or even my mom for example.

6] Question: When writing your more adult scenes, do you picture what’s happening in your head, then write what you see? Or do you use another technique.
Answer: Absolutely. I picture every love scene while writing. Great antadote for menopauseal symptoms.

7} Question: This or that~Wine or Beer? Sex in the City or Caroline in the City? Perfume or Jewelry? Painted nails or au natural? Tall or Dark or Handsome?
Answer: THAT. WINE~CAROLINE IN THE CITY~JEWELRY~AU NATURAL~TALL, DARK AND HANDSOME!!!!

8] Question: Do your leading men come from any place in particular? Dreams? Movie Stars? Your Partner Past Partners?
Answer : Dreams mostly. Although there are qualities in all my leading men that come from my imagination, and some movie stars, such as Henry Cavel, from the Tudors and Superman. And mostly traits from elsewhere in my mind. My partner of course is the kindest, most thoughtful man I know, and he guards my heart like a true and faithful knight.

9] Question: What is the first romance novel you ever read? How old were you?
Answer: It was my sisters book. I stole it from her room. I think it was by Kathleen Woodiwiss, Petals on the River.

10] Question: Do you write for a particular audience of for yourself and pray others like it as well?
Answer: I write for all those who love romance, and want to be loved by a hero. I write for myself. It is my parallel life. And I write to please my audience, hoping they will enjoy the ride as much as I do.

11] Question: What was the last most recent romance novel you read? Did you enjoy it?
Answer: Phillipa Gregory~ The White Queen was the last romance novel I read, and I enjoyed it very much. I was watching the series on Starz and had to read the book.

12] Question: As a writer of romance, do you ever put yourself in the leading ladies shoes and walk around in them before you write?
Answer: Yes. Throughout my day at my regular job, I imagine myself in her clothes and braiding her hair, and thinking about who she wants to be. And then she emerges there, waiting until I can put her on paper.

13] Question: Would you rather live one week in your leading lady’s shoes. Or the leading lady from another author? Who & Why?
Answer: Although there have been many ladies shoes I would have stepped into written by other authors, I still would rather step into the slippers of my own leading ladies.

14] Question: Do you have any advice to give the leading lady of the novel you are currently working on or just finished?
Answer: Yes! Never, never, go near a dark alley alone!!!!!

15] Question: How hard do you try to keep your ‘love scenes’ realistic and flow with the plot? Does it come easy for you?
Answer: Not sure I understand this question, but I every love scene I write I consider realistic. What would an unrealistic love scene be? And it comes easy for me, yes.

16] Question: In five years, where would you like to be in your career as a romance author? 10 years?
Answer: In five, I would like to retire from my day job and write full time. In ten years, I would like to travel the world on my royalties.

17] Question: When it comes to mainstream romance authors, who do you enjoy curling up with to read?
Answer: There are so many, but if I have to pick one, it would be ‘Karen Marie Moning.’ I love her sexy Highlanders and time travel romances. Have them all on my shelf!

18] Question: If your sweetheart wanted to sweep you off your feet, what would they need to do?
Answer: Marry me all over again, and then park my new car in the driveway!

19] Question: In the spectrum of ‘Romance’, where would you place your most recent novel? Closer to the ‘Sweet Side’ or ‘Naughty/ Erotica’ side, or somewhere in the middle.
Answer: Defiantly, somewhere in the middle.

20] Question: Do you ever have a daydream about people you see at the park? Airport? Train station? Mall? And build romance scenes around them while you daydream?
Answer: I keep hoping that will happen one day, but alas, not so far. All my scenes are from my fantasies.

21] Question: This or That~ Romantic Dinner at Home or Romantic Dinner out? Roses or Lilies? Diamonds or Emeralds? Demure or Sex Kitten? Making love on a secluded beach or making love in a secluded cabin in the woods?
Answer: That~ Romantic Dinner OUT! [Rarely go, and it is always a treat./ This~Roses. I am allergic to Lilies/ This~Diamonds/ This and That~ A bit of both/ That~ tried the beach once. [ not a good idea] The secluded cabin in the woods is by far my favorite!!!

Leave a Friendly Comment

