Romance Author ~ J.S. Marlo

 

1. If you could trade places with any of your leading ladies, who would it be and why?

I’m not so sure I want to be in my twenties again, so I’ll go with Riley from Unscripted (Duty Bound #1). She’s a mom, a wife, and a writer for a television show. She has a great family, she lives in an awesome place, she has an exciting career, but I would skip on some aspects of the personal dramas she’s going through.

2. In 5 words, please describe your ‘Romance Writing Style’.

Romance wrapped intimately with suspense.

3. Are any of your more ‘passionate’ scenes, based on any real life experiences?

Well, you know what they say ‘Write what you know—because you know more than you think’…

4. What is your ‘girl vice’? ie getting your hair done? Nails? Shopping? Gossiping? Chick flicks?

Long bubble baths with a good book J

5. Are any of your leading ladies, based on you or any of the ladies in your life? If so, who?

Star, my leading lady in Salvaged, is a scuba diver who investigates underwater wrecks for a living. One of my daughters is a scuba diver who enjoys exploring wrecks. The two share some of the same qualities: strong, passionate, independent. That being said, when people who know me read Unscripted, they always ask if Rowan, Riley’s nineteen-year old daughter who goes to university in Iceland, is based on my daughter. It’s kind of the other way around. I wrote Unscripted before my daughter went to university in Finland. My dear child actually told me about her overseas plan the same week Unscripted was published. Still, the coincidence is striking.

6. When writing your more ‘adult’ scenes, do you picture what’s happening in your head, then write what you see? Of do you use another technique?

I always picture any scenes in my head before I write them. It doesn’t matter what kind of scenes they are.

7. This or That ~

Wine or Beer? Beer.
Sex in the City or Caroline in the City? I wouldn’t know (I don’t watch either show).
Perfume or Jewelry? Neither.
Painted nails or Au Natural? Painted toenails but natural fingernails.
Tall or Dark or Handsome? Tall AND dark AND handsome…that pretty much describes my hubby J

8. Do your leading men come from any place in particular? Dreams? Movie stars? Your partner? Past partners?

Everywhere, from real to fictional men.

9. What is the first romance novel you ever read? How old were you?

It was during the summer and I was at my grandparents’ cottage. On the top floor, there were hidden crawling spaces between the closets which I loved exploring. One day, I must have been 10 or 11 years old at the time, I found a book in a dark corner, covered with dust bunnies. It was a Harlequin novel with the pages all yellowed and wrinkled. I can’t remember the title, but there was a nurse in the story. It was the first romance novel I read, and I read it hidden in the closet with a flashlight.

10. Do you write for a particular audience or for yourself and pray others like it as well?

I write stories I like to read, and I hope someone else likes them too.

11. What was the LAST (most recent) romance novel you read? Did you enjoy it?

I’m currently reading “When love calls” by Lorna Seilstad. One more bubble bath, and I’ll be done. Lorna is an inspirational writer and her books are captivating. This one is no exception.

12. As a writer of romance, do you ever put yourself in your leading lady’s shoes and ‘walk’ around in them before you write?

My version of “walking around in her shoes” is to daydream about her in different contexts that don’t always have anything to do with the story and imagine her reaction in order to build her personality.

13. Would You Rather ~
Live 1 wk in your leading lady’s shoes OR The leading lady from another author? Who & Why?

When I write a novel, I feel like I live in my leading lady’s shoes for months J I would definitely like to live in all my leading ladies’ shoes for a week. They all lead very exciting lives.

14. Do you have any advice to give the leading lady of the novel you are currently working on or just finished?

My advice to Phoenix, the leading lady in my new novel “Cold Sweat: Heart & Endurance Series” which is coming out in November: “It’s never too late”.

15. How hard do you try to keep your ‘love’ scenes realistic and flow with the plot? Does it come easy for you?

The love scenes have to be realistic and they have to have a purpose in the story, or else I skim over them. They are probably the hardest part of the story to write, mainly I think because English is not my first language, and when I play the love scene in my head, the words come to me in French.

16. In 5 years, where would you like to be in your career as a romance author? 10 years?

I enjoy writing, so I just hope I’ll still be writing in 10 years. As far as the next 5 years go, I aim to write 1 or 2 books a year, and translate my current novels in French so my mother can read them.

17. When it comes to mainstream Romance authors, who do you enjoy curling up with to read?

Joanne Fluke (for the storyline AND the delicious recipes inside the story) or Mary Higgins Clark.

18. If your sweetheart wanted to sweep you off your feet, what would they need to do??

Buy me chocolate and give me a massage.

19. In the spectrum of ‘Romance’, where would you place your most recent novel? Closer to the ‘Sweet’ side or ‘Naughty/Erotica’ side or somewhere in the middle??

Somewhere in the middle.

20. Do you ever daydream about people you see at the park? Airport? Train station? Mall? And build romance scenes around them while you daydream?

I do it all the time. That’s one perk about being a romance writer, you can daydream in public, and if anyone says anything, you can tell them you’re working on your new book.

21. This or That ~

Romantic Dinner at Home or Romantic Dinner Out? Definitely at home.
Roses or Lilies? Rose.
Diamonds or Emeralds? Neither, I prefer blue sapphires.
Demure or Sex Kitten? Demure.
Making love on a secluded Beach or Making love in a secluded cabin in the woods? In a secluded cabin in front of a fireplace in winter. What can I say…I’m Canadian J

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori H
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 11:00:58

    Scarlet and Rhett.

    Reply

  2. J.S.Marlo
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 14:58:06

    Stephanie, thanks for inviting me here today on this special day. The questions were lots of fun 🙂
    Hugs,
    JS

    Reply

Leave a Friendly Comment

