Book Review ~ “Underworld Lover” by Sharon Hamilton

Title ~ Underworld Lover

Author ~ Sharon Hamilton

Series~ Guardian Angel

Book # ~2

Format ~ebook via Kindle

Rating ~5 Stars

Short Recap ~Joshua Brandon, a legendary and powerful rogue dark angel, meets a human woman whose soul he cannot take, and finds something he has not experienced before; love. At the same time, a new director comes to power in the Underworld, who asks for a test of Josh’s loyalty by delivering this very woman to him.

Melanie Worthington is back among the living, after reeling from the suicide of a close friend. She has no idea she is to become the pawn between two powerful dark angels, one who would command her as his personal concubine, and the other who would set her free.

Will their love survive the battle between the two dark angels, or will Joshua risk his own immortal life to protect the woman he loves?

(recap courtesy of goodreads.com )

Sometimes you find a novel and other times, a novel finds you. ‘Underworld Lover’ is one of those novels that found me. This is an epic story of good verses evil with a modern twist, and a love story that is unlike any other I have ever read. I was immediately drawn in by Sharon’s description of the underworld and the ‘real’ world. I fell in love with Josh from the beginning. Josh was one of those characters that were conflicted throughout the whole novel. He wanted to do what he thought was ‘right’ and yet do what he knew how to do; he was almost an anti-hero in some ways.

As Josh and Melanie take on the new director of the Underworld, Peter, they also have to contend with her former friend, Felix. Felix is a character that kept me looking for him throughout the novel and curious as to his redeeming qualities.

‘Underworld Lover’ made me laugh out loud, it brought tears to my eyes, it gave me hope and in the end, was a steamy love story with all the intricacies that I love in a great novel; the twists and turns were expertly woven throughout and did not detract from the novel moving forward.

After reading this novel, it makes me want to get the first novel and keep reading the series. Sharon’s characters and story kept me reading late and her faith which showed through in subtle ways kept me wanting to get to know her characters and her more.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Hamilton
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 09:06:38

    Thank you so much, Steph. I am honored you found me, or rather, Josh found you!! He’s a good and steadfast friend, and, trust me, he will be back. His story isn’t over. Afterall, he’s been sent on a mission, right? That one will be book 5 in the series. Maybe 4, since I’m kinda liking to revisit him too.

    There is a common thread of good vs. evil in all my writings, and just reflects how I was raised. Yes, there are some pretty evil people in some of my books, but they never ultimately win in the end, which kind of fits with my philosophy and my deep personal convictions.

    I am so happy that we connected, and I can tell we will be friends forever.

    Reply

  2. stephsbookretreat
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 09:11:10

    God brought you to me when I asked for prayers for my grandmother and he brought your book to me; happy on both acounts 🙂

    I will admit, I was surprised at the underlieing spiritual aspects and undertones in the novel; I cannot say I have ever read a steamy romance that was able to balance both faith and a steamy plot.

    We will be friends for a long time.

    Reply

Leave a Friendly Comment